Contact Your Officials

HOOVER CITY OFFICIALS

School Officials

Superintendent Andy Craig
(205) 439-1015
acraig@hoover.k12.al.us
Recommended eliminating transportation beginning in 2014-2015 school year; appointed by board in 2007
Salary details here.

Assistant Superintendent Melody Greene
mgreene2@hoover.k12.al.us
Wife of Hoover City Councilman John Greene; became Assistant Superintendent summer 2013

Board of Education
Board members are appointed by the City Council to five-year terms.

Donna Frazier – President
appointed 2005, 2010
asburycottage@aol.com

Derrick Murphy – Vice President
appointed 2011
dmurphy.hoover@gmail.com

Stephen Presley
appointed 2012
presleysd@gmail.com 

Earl Cooper
appointed 2008, 2013
eacooper3@gmail.com

Craig Kelley
appointed 2014
kelleyboe@gmail.com


City Officials

Mayor Gary Ivey
Council 2004. 2008
Mayor 2011, elected 2012
mayorsoffice@ci.hoover.al.us

Jack Wright – President
elected 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012
jackwright@ci.hoover.al.us

Brian Skelton* – President Pro Tem
elected 2004, 2008, 2012
brianskelton@ci.hoover.al.us
*Brian Skelton was originally appointed to the Council in 1993 and was elected in 1996. He became Council President in 1998 and served as Mayor in 1999, after then-Mayor Frank Skinner pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor regarding campaign finance reporting. Skelton lost his re-election bid for Mayor in 2000 to one-term Mayor Barbara McCollum. He was again elected to the Council in 2004.

Dr. Trey Lott 
elected 2004, 2008, 2012

treylott@bellsouth.net

John Greene
elected 2008, 2012
Wife is Assistant Superintendent Melody Greene
johngreene3@msn.com

Admiral Jack Natter
appointed 2009, elected 2012
jnatter@ci.hoover.al.us

Gene Smith
elected 2004, 2008, 2012
genesmith3rd@gmail.com

John Lyda
elected 2012
Wife teaches at Gwin Elementary
johnlyda@ci.hoover.al.us
Twitter: @johnlyda


HOOVER CITY STATE LEGISLATORS

Senate

District 16 – Jabo Waggoner
1829 Mission Road
Birmingham, AL 35216
Home: 205-822-7443
Business: 205-978-7405
State House: 334-242-7892
jabo.waggoner@alsenate.gov
Twitter: @JaboWaggoner

House of Representatives

Go to this page to find which one of these is your representative. The state legislature is responsible for allocating funding for transportation.

District 43 – Mary Sue McClurkin
60 Indian Forest Trail
Pelham, AL 35124
Home: 205-991-6213
Business: 205-620-6610
State House: 334-242-7682
Cell: 205-902-6189
Fax: 205-620-6611
marysue.mcclurkin@alhouse.gov
Twitter: @McClurkinMS

District 46 – Paul DeMarco
111 Edgewood Blvd
Homewood, AL 35209
Home: 205-802-7285
Business: 205-314-7909
State House: 334-242-7667
Cell: 205-807-9196
paul@pljpc.com
Twitter: @Paul_Demarco

District 47 – Jack Williams
3273 Brashford Road
Birmingham AL 35216
Home: 205-979-7901
Business: 205-682-8019
State House: 334-242-7779
Cell: 205-862-5041
jack@jackwilliams.org
Twitter: @repjack

District 48 – Jim Carns
1713 Pump House Lane
Birmingham, AL 35243
Home: 205-967-3571
State House: 334-242-7600
Cell: 205-314-9808
Fax: 205-967-1840
jwcarns@yahoo.com

District 52 – John Rogers, Jr.
1424 18th Street SW
Birmingham, AL 35211
Home: 205-925-3522
Business: 205-934-0364
State House: 334-242-7761
yke@cec.conteduc.uab.edu


STATE EDUCATION OFFICIALS

State Superintendent Dr. Tommy Bice
tbice@alsde.edu
(334) 242-9700

State Board Member Stephanie Bell
stephaniewbell@gmail.com
(334) 272-2777